Who We Are

Lead to Read KC was launched in 2011 by Lynn and Jean Rundle. Both former teachers, Lynn and Jean mentored and tutored teens. They realized that many of these very intelligent kids couldn’t read fluently – and a few barely could spell. There had to be a way to help.

Lynn and Jean believed the problem wasn’t just that the kids weren’t reading; it also was that reading didn’t seem relevant to them. After months of research, plus consultation with school principals, teachers, community groups and community members, Lynn and Jean launched Lead to Read KC.  

Beginning with a handful of volunteers in several Kansas City-area schools, Lead to Read KC has diversified our program to serve our students and community in new ways. Our program now has four key areas of focus

  • Reading and Mentoring 
  • Tutoring 
  • Reading For Life Author Partnerships
  • Reading Is EverywhereSM Community Book Distribution Initiative 

Learn more about what we do.

We stand for inclusiveness, equity, and respect and against racism. We will speak up for equity and justice in schools. We operate with the utmost respect for our employees, volunteers and the communities we serve. Learn more

Lead to Read KC Board of Directors

Caitlin O’Byrne Waters, CBIZ-Chair

David Lowe, Lockton-Past Chair

Pauly Hart, Lead to Read KC-President

Ellen Pantaenius, Onspring Technologies-Secretary

Eric Graham, TPG Investments-Treasurer

Sue Agrawal, Community Volunteer

Shawn Creger, Edward Jones

Sarah Gaikwad, Lead to Read KC

Justin Goldsborough, FleishmanHillard

Dr. Lloyd Jackson, Kansas City Public Schools

Holly Jenkins-Long, LISC of Greater Kansas City

Denise Mills, The LeaderFuel Center LLC

Dina Newman, UMKC Center for Neighborhoods

Mary O’Connor, Country Club Bank

Matt Oldroyd, American Century

Lynn Rundle, Founder of Lead to Read KC

Mark Swanson, Burns & McDonnell

Lynn and Jean Rundle Co-founders of Lead to Read
Lynn and Jean Rundle
Co-founders of Lead to Read
lynn@LeadtoReadKC.org
Lead To Read KC Executive Director, Pauly Hart
Pauly Hart
Executive Director
pauly@leadtoreadkc.org
Sarah Gaikwad
Director of Administration
sarah@leadtoreadkc.org
Bev Leonard
Program Manager, Tutoring
bev@leadtoreadkc.org
Martha Weber Conradt
Marketing and Communications Manager
martha@leadtoreadkc.org
Hayley Rees
Volunteers Manager
hayley@leadtoreadkc.org

Allison White
Program Manager, Reading Mentoring Program
allison@leadtoreadkc.org

Linda Hughes
Program Manager, Community Outreach
linda@leadtoreadkc.org

 

Go back to the homepage